Clarification of Canadian Universities Role in the Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT)


Raymond Carlberg, Professor and founding TMT Project Director in Canada The Government of Canada, through its agent, the National Research Council, is the Canadian member of the TMT International Observatory. The National Research Council appoints one voting corporate governor, currently one of their staff.  Two…

2019 NSERC Vanier CGS Recipient – Emily Deibert


Emily Deibert is the recipient of the 2019 NSERC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS). The Vanier CGS program was established in 2008 to support Canada as a global centre of excellence in research and higher learning. Its recipients demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly…

TMT Statement


TMT Statement As a board member of the Association of Canadian Universities for Research in Astronomy (ACURA), I have been watching closely the recent events at the construction site of the Thirty-Metre Telescope (TMT) at Mauna Kea, Hawaii, and consulting with my colleagues at the University of Toronto….

2019 Rubin Prize Winner – Jo Bovy


The American Astronomical Society’s Division on Dynamical Astronomy (DDA)is pleased to announce that the 2019 recipient of the Vera Rubin Early Career Award is Professor Jo Bovy of the University of Toronto for his work on the structure and dynamics of the Milky Way galaxy. Professor…

Smith Solis Research Scholarship in Astronomy and Astrophysics


It is our pleasure to announce that Jacob Taylor is the recipient of Smith Solis Research Scholarship in Astronomy and Astrophysics, awarded to a top student in the AST425Y Research Topics in Astronomy & Astrophysics course on the basis of demonstrated excellence in the written…

Professor Marten van Kerkwijk has won 2019 Killam Research Fellowship


The Canada Council for Arts announced that Professor Marten van Kerkwijk has won 2019 Killam Research Fellowship. This fellowship will provide Marten with two years relief from all assigned duties in the Department. The Killam is a fabulous award to a mid-career scientist that will…

Bryan Gaensler Recipient of 2019 Peter Martin Award


Martin Award: Bryan Gaensler CASCA is pleased to announce Dr. Bryan Gaensler from the University of Toronto as the recipient of the 2019 Peter Martin award for Mid-Career Achievement. Dr. Gaensler is the Director of the Dunlap Institute at the University of Toronto, and has…

Jason Hunt wins 2018 Polanyi Prize


Congratulations to Dunlap Fellow Jason Hunt, who this morning has been awarded the 2018 Polanyi Prize in Physics! (Details are at http://www.dunlap.utoronto.ca/dr-jason-hunt-awarded-2018-polanyi-prize-in-physics-for-mapping-the-milky-way-galaxy/) The Polanyi Prizes recognise outstanding achievements by early career researchers at Ontario universities. Jason is the fifth UofT astronomer to win this award,…