Skip to main content


Congratulations to Polanyi Prize winner Josh Speagle

24 Jan 2023

Dear all,

We’re thrilled to report that Josh Speagle has been named the winner of the Polanyi Prize for Physics for 2022!

The Polanyi Prizes are awarded annually to outstanding early-career researchers by the Ontario Council of Universities. They are named in honour of 1986 Nobel Laureate John Polanyi, and are presented in the same five categories as the Nobel Prizes.

Josh continues an extraordinary run of UofT astronomers who have one this prize: previous winners include Gwen Eadie (2021), Maria Drout (2019), Jason Hunt (2018), John Antoniadis (2016), Roman Rafikov (2006), Lawrence Widrow (1991) and Hyung Mok Lee (1987).

See for the full story.

Congratulations, Josh!

Bob and Bryan