Ph.D student Ilana MacDonald Wins the 2013 Fieldus Award


Chair Howard Yee announces: The 2013 Fieldus Award to a graduating student for excellence in leadership and research goes to Ilana MacDonald for her excellent research into the accuracy requirements for gravitational wave forms, and her outstanding contributions to public outreach and education, especially her…

Prof. Marten van Kerwijk named a Guggenheim Fellow


Professor Marten van Kerwijk has been named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for 2013-14, with the project “Merging white dwarfs and thermonuclear supernovae”. Congratulations, Marten!

Ray Jayawardhana Selected to Participate in the 2013 Arctic Circle Program


Professor Ray Jayawardhana, Astronomy & Astrophysics, has been selected to participate in the 2013 Arctic Circle Program, an annual expeditionary residency program which provides scientists and artists an opportunity to interact and collaborate aboard a sailing vessel in the Arctic.

Prof. Peter Martin Received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal


Professor Peter Martin, Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal – an honour created to mark the 60th anniversary of  the accession to the throne of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The medals were awarded for significant contributions and…

John Percy wins the 2013 AAS Education Prize


Professor Emeritus John Percy wins the 2013 AAS Education Prize. In the congratulating notes by Chair Howard Yee, he cited the quotes from the AAS announcement for the award: The 2013 Education Prize goes to John R. Percy (University of Toronto) for more than 40 years…