Roberto Abraham Receives Killam Award


The Canada Council for the Arts awards the prestigious Killam award to outstanding scholars.   More information about the award and Abraham’s work can be found below: https://www.utoronto.ca/news/three-u-t-scholars-receive-killam-awards   https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2015/08/27/u-of-t-astrophysicists-dragonfly-offers-a-bugs-eye-view-of-the-universe.html  

Michael Reid Awarded Outstanding Teaching Award for 2016-17


The Faculty of Arts and Science has selected Michael Reid for an Outstanding Teaching Award for 2016-17. The Faculty of Arts & Science Outstanding Teaching Awards, established in 1993, highlights excellence in teaching. Congratulations, Mike!

Heidi White Won 2017 Fieldus Award


Department Chair, Ray Carlberg, announced on Jan 9, 2017: Ph.D student Heidi White is 2017 Fieldus Award winner. The Fieldus award recognizes all aspects of a graduate student contributions, including those that make our graduate school a rich and warm place for everyone. Congratulations, Heidi!…

Dana Simard Won 2017 Allen Yen Award


Department Chair, Ray Carlberg, announced on Jan 9, 2017: Ph.D student Dana Simard is 2017 Allen Yen award winner. The Yen award recognizes a graduate student’s contribution to research. Dana is recognized for her work on the role of current sheets in pulsar scintillation. Congratulations!…

Prof Peter Martin named an Officer of the Order of Canada


On Friday, December 30, 2016,  Governor-General David Johnston announced the list of 100 Order of Canada appointments. Among them, our own professor Peter G. Martin has been named an Officer of the Order of Canada. Congratulations, Peter!  

Prof. Jo Bovy Awarded Sloan Research Fellow


The Sloan Foundation has just announced that Professor Jo Bovy is a 2016 Sloan Research Fellow.  The Sloan Fellowship is a prestigious early career (within 7 years of PhD) award. Congratulations Jo!

Prof. Bryan Gaensler and Jo Bovy Awarded CRC


Bryan Gaensler, Professor and Director of Dunlap Institute,  and Jo Bovy, Assistant Professor of DAA are awarded Canada Research Chairs, announced by federal minister of science Kirsty Duncan on February 9, 2016. They are among a total of 305 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs…

Allen Yen Award 2016: Winners Announced


Department Chair Ray Carlberg announced on January 15, 2016: Every year DAA gives the Allen Yen award to one or more students who have undertaken particularly notable research. Allen Yen was a distinguished University Professor in Electrical Engineering who played a major role in the…