Skip to main content


Professor Marten van Kerkwijk has won 2019 Killam Research Fellowship

25 Apr 2019

The Canada Council for Arts announced that Professor Marten van Kerkwijk has won 2019 Killam Research Fellowship. This fellowship will provide Marten with two years relief from all assigned duties in the Department. The Killam is a fabulous award to a mid-career scientist that will help Marten take his wide ranging studies of compact objects, their collapses and explosions to the next level.

Congratulations Marten!


The 2019 Killam Program Winners

The prestigious Killam Program comprises the Killam prizes and the Killam research fellowships. The Killam Prizes honor eminent scholars in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. These outstanding scholars actively contribute to ground-breaking research and their advances have positive impacts on our lives. They each receive a $100,000 prize.


2019 Killam Prize Winners

Yoshua Bengio (Université de Montréal)

André Blais (Université de Montréal)

Keith W. Hipel (University of Waterloo)

Stephen W. Scherer (University of Toronto)

Lynne Viola (University of Toronto)

The Killam Research Fellowships provide outstanding scholars across all disciplines with two years of release time from teaching and administrative duties so that they can carry out research projects of broad significance and widespread interest.


2019 Killam Research Fellowship Recipients

Matt Dobbs (McGill University)

Dennis Hall (University of Alberta)

Catherine Sulem (University of Toronto)

Marten van Kerkwijk (University of Toronto)

Xiao Yu (Shirley) Wu (University of Toronto)

Andrei Yudin (University of Toronto)

The Killam Prizes will be presented at a ceremony in Ottawa on May 21, 2019, as part of Canadian Innovation Week.