Skip to main content


2019 Rubin Prize Winner – Jo Bovy

13 Jun 2019

The American Astronomical Society’s Division on Dynamical Astronomy (DDA)is pleased to announce that the 2019 recipient of the Vera Rubin Early Career Award is Professor Jo Bovy of the University of Toronto for his work on the structure and dynamics of the Milky Way galaxy.

Professor Bovy earned his Ph.D. from New York University in 2011 under the direction of D.W. Hogg, and has studied a wide range of phenomena related to the dynamics of the Milky Way. He has used stellar motions in the solar neighborhood to constrain the local abundance of dark matter, clarified the spatial and kinematic structure of different stellar populations within the galactic disk, and developed ways to model perturbations on stellar streams. Professor Bovy’s work has therefore provided key insights into how to model large surveys of our Galaxy. Professor Bovy has also supported dynamical astronomy by developing an open-source python toolkit, galpy, that has been used for a wide variety of applications.

Professor Bovy will be invited to give a lecture at the 51st annual DDA meeting in the spring of 2020.