Stephen Ro and Dan Taranu Win Jui Lin (Allen) Yen Award for 2013-14


2013 – 2014 Yen Award is given to Stephen Ro for his work on modelling shocks in supernova explosions, and to Dan Taranu for his n-body simulation work to investigate the fundamental plane and other properties of elliptical galaxies arising from mergers of group galaxies….

Ph.D student Kelly Lepo Wins the 2013-14 Fieldus Award


Chair Howard Yee announced on April 7, 2014: The 2013-14 Fieldus Award  goes to Kelly Lepo for her leadership, exemplified by her role as  president for GASA, and outstanding contributions to education and public outreach, which included giving many public talks, participating in the summer…

Peter Martin Wins CASCA 2014 Executive Award for Outstanding Service


Professor Peter Martin Wins CASCA 2014 Executive Award for Outstanding Service which is given in alternate years by CASCA  “to an individual who has made sustained contributions in service that have strengthened the Canadian astronomical community and enhanced its impact regionally, nationally and/or internationally.” Congratulations,…

Ph.D student Pegah Salbi wins the 2012 gold medal of RASC


Ph.D student Pegah Salbi wins the 2012 gold medal of The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada, Toronto Centre. Inaugurated in 1986, the gold medal is presented to the student graduating with a B.Sc. in Astronomy or Astrophysics with the highest first class standing from each…

2013 Rutherford medal in physics goes to Ray Jayawardhana


Professor Ray Jayawardhana wins the 2013 Rutherford Medal in Physics from the Royal Society of Canada. The Rutherford Medals in Physics and Chemistry, in honour of research done by Rutherford in Canada in the early stage of his career, are given by the RSC each…

Ph.D student Charles Zhu Wins the 2012-13 Jui Lin Yen Award


Chair Howard Yee Announces: The 2012-13 Jui Lin Yen Award for outstanding research work carried out by a graduate student, goes to Charles Zhu for his recent article “A Parameter-Space Study of Carbon-Oxygen White Dwarf Mergers.” Congratulations, Charles!

Ph.D student Ilana MacDonald Wins the 2013 Fieldus Award


Chair Howard Yee announces: The 2013 Fieldus Award to a graduating student for excellence in leadership and research goes to Ilana MacDonald for her excellent research into the accuracy requirements for gravitational wave forms, and her outstanding contributions to public outreach and education, especially her…