Prof. Bob Abraham Elected A Fellow of Royal Society of Canada


Professor Bob Abraham has been elected  as a Fellow of RSC for his seminal work on high-z galaxies and his innovative observational techniques. The following is the citation: Roberto Abraham has made important contributions to astrophysics though his work on galaxy morphology and classification. His…

Ph.D student Charles Zhu wins the 2014-15 Fieldus Award


Chair Howard Yee announced on April 20, 2015: The 2014-15 Fieldus Award  goes to Charles Zhu  for his excellent research on the mergers of CO white dwarfs and the importance of magnetic field in the process, and the leadership role he played in the public…

Canada commits its share of funds for Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT)


On April 6, 2015, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the Government of Canada’s intention to provide significant support for the Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT) which will be built in Hawaii, at the summit of the Mauna Kea site. The funding commitment is up to $243.5…

Dr. Michael Reid wins inaugural UofT Early Career Teaching Award


On March 24, 2015, Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost announced: Dr. Michael Reid wins inaugural UofT Early Career Teaching Award recognizing him for exceptional commitment to student learning, pedagogical engagement and teaching innovation. Congratulations, Mike!

Prof. Christine Clement wins the 2014 Arbor Award


Professor emeritus Christine Clement has won the 2014 Arbor Award from the University of Toronto for her loyalty, dedication and generosity which have added immeasurably to the quality of the experience for students, faculty, staff and alumni.   Congratulations, Christine!