Prof Bob Abraham Takes Over as the Chair of the Department


On July 1st, 2020, Professor Bob Abraham assumes the position of Chair of the David A Dunlap Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics (DADDAA). In the mean time, Prof Kristen Menou is appointed as Associate Graduate Chair, while Prof Mike Reid as Associate Undergraduate Chair. Congratulations!

Luke Pratley, has won the IAU 2019 Division B thesis prize


Congratulations to Luke Pratley, who has won the IAU 2019 Division B thesis prize for his dissertation “Radio Astronomy in the Big Data Era” ! Full details here: https://www.iau.org/news/announcements/detail/ann20022/

Dr. Howard K. C. Yee is the recipient of the 2020 Beals Award.


Congratulations to Howard for the Beals Award! Howard has played many important roles in Canadian astronomy. When Howard started there was almost no extragalactic astronomy, let alone observational cosmology in Canada. He brought the experience and rigor of Caltech observing to CFHT which led to…

Prof. Renée Hložek named as a 2020 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow


Prof Renée Hložek, who this morning was named as a 2020 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow. The Sloan Fellowships are one of the most prestigious awards in North American academia; since 1955, this program has sought to stimulate fundamental research by recognising early-career scientists and…

Prof. Maria Drout wins 2019 Polanyi Prize in Physics


Prof. Maria Drout Wins 2019 Polanyi Prize in Physics The prestigious prizes are awarded in honour of Ontario’s Nobel Prize winner John C. Polanyi to recognize early career researchers (4.5 years of PhD) in the Nobel prize categories. Congratulations, Maria!

Natalie Price-Jones has won the 2019 Fieldus award!


Natalie Price-Jones has won the Fieldus award this year. She has a demonstrated commitment to research excellence and went above and beyond in her TA work. She helped organize Astro Tours and was the master of the 3D printer. She served as co-President of GASA…